The WYOB Story

Chairman of the Board, Skip Finley, received a grant from the Federal Communications Commission to construct a Low Power radio station (LPFM) licensed to Oak Bluffs, MA in October 2014. The organization's name is M&M Community Development Inc., Oak Bluffs Branch which is owned by the Finley family.

Finley has been a nationally recognized radio broadcasting and media executive for many years. He worked in media (principally broadcasting) since May 1971. Finley has owned radio stations and had responsibility for 43 stations encompassing 17 US media markets, 3 radio networks, 2 nationally syndicated radio programs, 1 syndicated full time radio format and 1 satellite channel.

He is a former Vice-Chairman of the National Association of Broadcasters, a former Chairman of the Radio Advertising Bureau, and board member of several other industry boards of directors. He is presently a member of the board and executive committee of the Broadcaster’s Foundation of America.

Retired, today he is a writer and works for his hometown newspaper, the Vineyard Gazette, where he writes the weekly Oak Bluffs Town column and as director of sales and marketing.

Following meetings with the past and present Administration of the Martha’s Vineyard Public School District and Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School, they and Finley have resolved that WLOB-LP will be housed at the High School. Initially it will be an extra-curricular activity for students. Its specific mission is to become a part of a State approved Career and Technical Education (CTE) program over an approximate two-year period.

WYOB-LP Board Members

Skip Finley, Chairman, Oak Bluffs, MA
Michael L. Carter, Vice Chairman, Kansas City, MO
Glenn R. Mahone, General Counsel, Tisbury, MA and Pittsburgh, PA
Karen W. Finley, Treasurer, Oak Bluffs, MA
Kharma I. Finley-Wallace, Director Digital Marketing, Oak Bluffs, MA and Washington, DC
R Kristin F. Brown, Director Public Affairs, Oak Bluffs, MA
Tony Gray, Director of Programming, Chicago, IL
Drew Marcus, Chair Audit Committee, Chilmark, MA and Greenwich, CT
Elizabeth Neuhoff, Director Industry Relations, Edgartown, MA and Jupiter, FL
Robert Tankard, Chair Scholarship Committee, Vineyard Haven, MA
Timothy Brown, Scholarship Committee, Oak Bluffs, MA
Shelley Stewart, Scholarship Committee, Oak Bluffs, MA and Philadelphia, PA
Christian Thornton, Scholarship Committee, Edgartown, MA
Steve Goldstein, Industry Relation Comm, Westport, CT & West Tisbury, MA

MVRHS Radio Club Managers

Jesse Dawson, Production Director/Asst Music Director
Matt Delorenzo, Program Director
Ben Nadelstein, Marketing Director
Malick Burke, Music Director/Social Media Director